Saturday, May 25, 2013

Blog Tour: Ray of Light

About the Book:
Bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray brings inspirational romance to life in this sweet tale of love in the Amish community, Ray of Light, the second installment of her Days of Redemption series.

Roman Keim just wants a break from the family drama at his snowy Ohio home when he heads to an Amish snowbird community in Florida. There he meets Amanda Yoder and her daughter Regina who soon are warming his heart. But will Roman return to Ohio or will he stay and help the young widow embrace a second chance at love?

The author of the series Sisters of the Heart and Seasons of Sugarcreek, Shelley Shepard Gray delivers an honest, tender love story in Ray of Light, featuring the challenges of faith, family, and romance.

My Comments:
This book gave a different perspective on Amish life than what I've usually seen.  The families in this book are New Order Amish.  Amanda wears a peach colored dress; her daughter wears pink and they have a phone in the house.  I don't know what other differences exist between these New Order Amish and the Old Order Amish about whom many books are written. Also, instead of a farm in Ohio or Pennsylvania, much of this story is set in Florida.  

I enjoyed watching these two young (though not so young) people learn to love again.  Shelley Shepard Gray  brought forth how hard it must be to lose an only child in a culture that is very family-oriented (not that losing a child is ever easy).  Her in-laws are supportive of her--except when she starts to want to move on with her life.

The book is the second in a series and I have not read the first.  The  main couple makes a cameo appearance--he is a missionary to Belize and while they are engaged, she goes to visit him.  I never knew that the Amish had missionaries.  There are references to some backstory that those of us who have not read the first book wonder why are included as they add nothing to this story.  

In short, this was a relatively short interesting read about two charming people from a slightly different Amish community.

Thanks to the folks at Litfuse for providing a complimentary review copy.  Grade:  B.
Meet Shelley:
Shelley Shepard Gray is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the "Sisters of the Heart", "Seasons of Sugarcreek", "Secrets of Crittenden County", and Families of Honor series. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town's bike trail.

Learn more at

No comments:

Post a Comment

View My Stats